[2021/2022] Correctional Services Bursaries DSC

By | October 14, 2021

The Department of Correctional Services, a department of the South Africa government, headed by the Minister of Justice and Correctional Services.
The Department is responsible for providing administrative and financial matters to the countries court system and judiciary. They are also responsible for South Africa’s correctional services and providing legal advise and representation.


The DCS will be awarding bursaries to students within the following fields of study:

  • Painter (Artisan qualification)
  • Boilermaker (Artisan qualification)
  • Welder (Artisan qualification)
  • Locksmith (Artisan qualification)
  • Automotive Motor Mechanic (Artisan qualification)
  • Security Management (National Diploma)
  • Food Services (National Diploma)
  • Agriculture (National Diploma/ Degree)
  • Human Resource Management (National Diploma/ Degree)
  • Finance & Logistics (National Diploma/ Degree)
  • Penology/ Correctional Services (National Diploma/ Degree)
  • Criminology (National Diploma/ Degree/ Honours Degree)
  • Psychology (Masters)


Once students have completed their studies, they will be required to work for the department where needed.

Shortlisted candidates will be contacted – if you do not receive any feedback, please accept that your application was unsuccessful.


Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying (please note that failure to satisfy all the requirements will lead to your application not being considered):

  • South African citizen
  • Completed Matric OR NQF level 4 certicate
  • Studying or intend on studying within one of the aforementioned fields of study
  • Studying or intend on studying at a recognised South African tertiary institution
  • NOT currently in receipt of another bursary from other organisations


Download and complete the Department of Correctional Services Bursary Application Form (.pdf)


Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your completed application form (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application be disregarded):

  • ID document (certified copy)
  • Matric certificate (certified copy)
  • Highest qualification record (certified copy)
  • Course curriculum or prospectus
  • Proof of registration or acceptance letter (for tuition and accommodation)
  • Full tertiary academic record, if currently studying at tertiary level (certified copy)
  • Course fee outline

Applications must be submitted in one of the following ways:
Head Office
Post: Private Bag x136, Pretoria, 0001
Hand Deliver: 124 WF Nkomo Street, Poyntons East Block, Room 949, Pretoria
(Attention: Mr Bongekile Jwara)

Eastern Cape
Post: Private Bag X9013, East London, 5200
Hand deliver: Ocean View Terrace, East Block, Moore Street
(Attention: Mr Modimowagae RG)

Post: Private Bag X393, Pretoria, 0001
Hand deliver: Broll Building 1077, Corner Festival and Arcadia Street, Hatfield
(Attention: Ms Sbongile Mkhuzangwe)

Kwa-Zulu Natal
Post: Private Bag X9126, Pietermaritzburg, 3200
Hand deliver: Eugene Maraise Road, Napierville, Pietermaritzburg
(Attention: Ms Rajashree Moodley)

Limpopo/ Mpumalanga/ North West
Post: Private Bag X142, Pretoria, 0001
Hand deliver: Masada Building, C/n Proes and Paul Kruger Street
(Attention: Mr. Eddie Nhlengethwa)

Northern Cape/ Free State
Post: Private Bag X20530, Bloemfontein, 9300
Hand deliver: Zastron Street, 103 Agrimed Building, Bloemforntein
(Attention: Mr Kosana M / Ms Elsa Feder)

Western Cape
Post: Private Bag X1, Edgemead, 7407
Hand deliver: Breede River Street, Montagu Drive, Monte Vista, 7460
(Attention: Mr Ngcanga FD)

*Please note: application forms and documents submitted via fax, email or registered mail will NOT be accepted.


(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)


For any queries related to this bursary programme, please contact the Department of Correctional Services directly:
Head Office (Contact Person: Mr Bongekile Jwara, Tel: 012 307 2019)
Eastern Cape (Contact Person: Mr Modimowagae RG, Tel: 043 706 7803 / 043 706 7840)
Gauteng (Contact Person: Ms Sbongile Mkhuzangwe, Tel: 012 420 0190)
Kwa-Zulu Natal (Contact Person: Ms Rajashree Moodley, Tel: 033 355 7303 / 033 355 7359)
Limpopo / Mpumalanga / North West (Contact Person: Mr Eddie Nhlengethwa, Tel: 012 306 2100 / 012 306 2026)
Northern Cape / Free State (Contact Person: Mr Kosana M / Ms Elsa Feder, Tel: 051 404 0200)
Western Cape (Contact Person: Mr Ngcanga FD, Tel: 012 550 6068 / 012 550 6078)